Bicycles in Asia – photo 1 of 60

6 Oct

My friends, Aude and Willem, have been travelling through Asia for 5 months. Upon their return, they brought me a present: pictures of cyclists in India, Birma, Cambodia, Laos and China. To show how the Dutch claim to cycling fame is tenuous.

The pictures have hit a spot – in a good way.

Over the course of the coming weeks, I’m sharing the pictures with you. I am curious to hear your thoughts. Have you been to Asia? And do we need to replace the Dutch and Danish bike ambassadors with Cambodian or Chinese? Do not hesitate to drop me a line, via the comments section below.

This picture, number 1 of 60, was taken in Birma.

Cyclist on Wooden Bridge, Birma -- by Aude de Prelle

9 Responses to “Bicycles in Asia – photo 1 of 60”

  1. mike rubbo October 6, 2011 at 11:46 pm #

    This is a wonderful photo. There is something so safe about the rider’s pose and yet risky at the same time.

    Also. I’ve often thought that if we really valuefd bikes in our crowed cities like Sydney, we could fly them overhead like this.

    You speak of 60. Are you going to release them one by one\? We’ll go mad! Mike

    • dublindutch October 7, 2011 at 5:42 am #

      Hi Mike,
      first of all: thanks so much for your thoughts. Indeed: the photo exudes confidence and fragility.
      Second: It’s nice to hear from a like-minded person in Sydney. Making fly-overs for bikes sounds like a cool idea. We are good friends with Saskia – who runs Sydney Cycle Chic – and she works hard to get a more cycling friendly culture going there. I’m sure you’ve see her blog before? If not, take a look at her cycling opinions.
      Finally: we took a good look at your bike, and we love your artwork. It perfectly captures the ‘Dutch way’ (or: Cambodian way?) of cycling: seated upright, back straight, overlooking traffic. Would it be OK if we did a small blog post about your work?
      Best,
      Philip
      PS — yes, we are releasing the photo’s 1 by 1. It’s tantalizing, I know.

      • mike rubbo October 7, 2011 at 6:33 am #

        Hi Phillip, Yes, I know Saskia well. I’ve joined her cycle chic rides around Sydney. Also she brought a bunch of riders to the Bicycle art show I had few months back at the Tap gallery. Many photos of the tall and graceful Saskia are scattered through my blog (http://situp-cycle.com)

        As for using the bike art as a post, that’s a great idea. Go for it!
        As you release your pics. I’m hoping at least one of them inspires me to a piece of bicycle art. I’ll let you know it it does. Mike

  2. What is Photography October 9, 2011 at 7:04 pm #

    Hey, it is so amazing photograph. An experienced and skillful photographer only can shoot such photograph, great work buddy.
    Cheers, Mike (What is Photography Site)

  3. Guy October 10, 2011 at 9:09 am #

    This is indeed an amazing pic. You can almost feel the warm wind going through the hairs of the mother whilst her son looks out over the plains of the Burmese countryside. Both of them get carried away by the tranquil sounds of the first crickets that announce the arrival of dusk. This is a picture that unintentionally makes me think of the Birma that George Orwell describes in its amazing novel Burmese days. Thanks Philip but also thanks Aude for briefly taking me away from daily life in the office…

  4. hmunkittrick October 15, 2011 at 6:12 pm #

    Hello,

    I am currently living in Cambodia and I obsess over the bicycles here. I absolutely love that you will be adding photos of bikes in Asia because they truly are amazing. This is a fantastic photo, and when I see it I feel very much at home. I’d love to share with you the photos I’ve taken. If you have some time check out my blog, I just re-posted an old post so the pictures would be the first to show on the page. I can’t wait to see the next photograph!

    http://hmunkittrick.wordpress.com/

    Cheers,
    Hana

  5. Photography Jobs October 19, 2011 at 11:03 pm #

    Nice click mate, You could zoom the people on bicycle little bit, I feel to take print out of this photograph and hang on my wall in my room. So lovely photograph, you could have sale on your original & enlarged photograph, Aren’t you?

  6. r.m. v. October 25, 2011 at 1:39 pm #

    What a beautifull pictures. They really make you feel what it is to bike in Asia and how it will be in Dublin. A highly talented photographer.

  7. David WJJ Vriesendorp October 25, 2011 at 2:40 pm #

    If I look carefully it looks like it is à byclicle of Dutch orgine. Maybe it was looted in the Netherlands occupied by Germany and transported to the East by U Boat. Who knows? Anyway it seems to be à solid proof of the quality of Dutch bikes.
    David WJJ Vriesendorp

Leave a Reply

